Thoughts or tips on getting away from combo assist?

Hello all,

Does anyone have any tips on getting away from Combo Assist? I’ve been hitting the lab pretty hard but I’m having trouble executing combos. I’m not very good and understand that it takes some practice, I’m wondering if anyone has any tips to help out. I’ve been going through the combos that Infil has listed, I can hit them kind of consistently in the lab. I’ve also been trying to practice against the computer on hard difficulty to get into the feel of playing without combo assist, but I don’t feel like I’m making progress.

Thanks for any advice, go Sadira

1 Like

Look, I love combo assist and wish it were around when I started learning. To be honest, I still actually use it so I don’t drop ultras.

That said, don’t try to do combos described in Infils guide, they are best in terms of utilizing said characters move-set to the fullest. It’s all well and good, but it does takes some skill to execute, especially with manuals.

My suggestion is use easy characters so that you can apply timing into your combos, both offline and online so you can adapt to frame/input delay. I used Thunder because of his straightforward moves and slower auto doubles. Once you familiarize some of the easier characters then jump to your main with some knowledge on timing and how to adjust to a faster pace, especially with Sadiras key-timed juggles.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. Otherwise, hopefully that helps.

3 Likes

Thanks TigerSpirit, I think that’s really good advice. Sadira does seem very fast paced. She is my favorite character to use, but you’re right, learning timing with a slower character will probably help.

Thanks!

1 Like