How fast can you type?

Just curious how fast people can type! If you don’t know, you can take a 1 minute typing test at typingtest.com. You can get easier or harder texts there, so your max WPM on an easy test won’t be the same as your average WPM on a harder test, but feel free to give the highest number you can manage, or give an approximate number from tests you’ve done in years past.

If I take the test, does it give any indication of how good I can use a fight stick? :smile:

~65wpm, but I’m hitting above 80wpm fairly often and my average of past 10 is often above 70wpm.

I started learning to touch-type properly lately, before which my typing style was maybe typical of a programmer who started with hunt-and-peck and just developed muscle memory ad-hoc and ingrained a lot of bad habits. Whilst I’d like to say that cleaning up my typing was purely a self-improvement thing, it probably has a lot more to do with spending some time of late watching Majora’s Mask speedrunner streamer fniure, who passes a lot of the longer cutscenes with typeracer races.

I’m not too good at the typing…

Maybe this video could help challenge how fast can you type…

Courtesy of Freddie Wong:

1 Like

I got 45 wpm. That’s not bad I guess.

I’m at 70 wpm, but that’s with this annoying pop-up that keeps happening that freezes the screen and makes me have to click back on it :unamused: I’ll try again when I get home.

But all in all that’s probably pretty good. All that Mario Teaches Typing back in the day apparently paid off :joy:

Seriously though…does anyone remember Mario Teaches Typing? :slight_smile:

I have been close to 90 in the past (official test for a temp job). I have no idea where I am at now.

The fun metric is the 10-key since it is done by 5 minute intervals, the numbers are huge. I was at like ~10000 or so.

@STORM179

My jam was Typer Shark.

Used to type at upwards of 70wpm, but I’ve purposely slowed down now.