So I just got the Season 1 disk

So I had ordered the Season 1 Combo Breaker disk, and it just arrived today. I thought I’d give my thoughts on it. I want to qualify that I’m not a pro, and I was a “filthy casual” at best during S1 so I never got into the advanced bug-exploiting game-breaking play a lot of pros did.

It was neat to go back and see all the older UI and asthetics. So far I’ve only played with Jago and Glacius. Jago doesn’t seem to have changed much on the broader strokes IMHO…obviously there are several differences like Instinct (This build seemed like he gained health from simply attacking…also no double fireballs). Glacius…wow that was like playing with one hand tied behind my back. 1 hail at a time, no moving puddle moves…medium PP was back to an opener, but it was definitely different. I’m looking forward to playing Fulgore with his heavy sk-eye laser and manual reactor charging.

If anyone is interested, there have been threads about it, but I didn’t want to necro a year-old thread…it’s not hard to play it. You need an account that hasn’t played KI before (I’d recommend a new account just for playing S1), make sure the Xbox can’t access the current build of KI (either just delete it completely or save it to an external HDD and then unplug it) and then go offline and load the game from disk. Then make sure when you play you do so offline.

If you purchased the S1 Ultra pack are careful about it you can also dig through your KI download files on another profile and download it again/copy from the external HDD and it’ll unlock a few retros…I think just Jago, Glacius, and Saberwulf. The others didn’t seem to be on the build.

Overall, what I’ve played of S1 so far…IMHO it’s rather dull. A lot of the additions IG have made such as flip-outs, aerial combos/aerial breakers, etc makes the game much more dynamic and fluid. It’s neat to go back and visit S1…but I have no intention of staying there.

16 Likes

My thoughts exactly.

2 Likes