Simple suggestion to buff shago

I am a newb. Lets get that out of the way. I have no delusions of thinking my shago is optimized, far from it.

But to me shago has some glaring weaknesses that need to addressed.

From what i can tell one of his design choices was to give him bad frames because he has really good mixup tools. He doesn’t. All you need to do is crouchblock and youve more or less taken most of his tools off the table.

And his mixups arent true mixups like tj combo where you could potentially go ermac on someone n perfect ko them. Shagos mixups are about getting in, thats it.

My suggestion is simple. Give him a flipout. And give him a safe option in neutral. It can be as generic as the shouto bnb, cr,mk into fireball. His design is about having mixup tools then give him mixup tools. Give him a vortex.

What do you all think? Am i off the mark?

I can offer you a few tips, using experience I’ve earned getting bodied by Shagos in this game :slight_smile:

When someone crouch blocks, it does mean that Shago becomes a little baby at a distance. Tele-divekick, rollerskates and shendo-pea-shooter no longer do anything. However:

1. You can cross-up tele-divekick from mid screen. That can sometimes break open someone who knows to crouch block. If you surge it, it’s safe.
  2. Surge rollerskates crosses up instantaneously. Even if your opponent is crouch blocking, reacting to that is tough. And if you’re a Shago who uses surge skates and regular skates at a close to 1:1 ratio, blocking becomes a very nerve-wracking experience for your opponent.
  3. At close range, use Shago’s dash move liberally. Shagos who love to dash through you and back and then pick corkscrew, divekick, rollerskates or throw are absolutely kings of salt.

I feel dirty for giving you these tips. Shago just buries me in salt every time I see him on the vs screen. But I suppose every character deserves a fanbase :stuck_out_tongue:

4 Likes

Shago has a safe overhead that staggers.