Quite new to KI. Have no idea which character to play as

I just recently got an XB1 and KI. I’ve never played KI before, so all the characters are new to me. I played a ton of MKX on PS4, so I have some fighting game experience, but KI is entirely different in every way. Anyone want to give their suggestions on what characters to play as? I have no preference when it comes to them. Would be much appreciated!

2 Likes

Depends on your playstyle. For beginners,I suggest Sabrewulf or Jago. Sabrewulf is a rushdown character and if you are good at close range,you will do descent. Jago is a more balanced character he is good at every thing but excellent at nothing. Try dojo mode. I think it can help you.

2 Likes

Welcome to the community!

The dojo will give you a good rundown of KI’s basics and some of Jago’s unique properties, but every character in KI has interesting things to them – really it depends on what you like to play.

If you don’t have any early notions, as @Sasuke99I just said, Jago or Sabre are easy to pick up. From there, just explore and have fun.

Nice RE ref in your Nickname, btw.

2 Likes

Welcome to Killer Instinct, friendo!
If you’re looking for easy characters to learn, I have a few suggestions.
-For a character that has a dedicated tutorial, and a tool for just about any situation you can find yourself in during play, pick Jago. He uses a basic Ryu style Shoto move set, and is flexible enough to keep pace with everyone else in the cast. For other variations on this style, try Fulgore, Omen, and of course Shadow Jago.
-For simple characters with simple game plans and easy controls, I recommend the back-forward/down-up rushdown characters. Sabrewulf is probably the standout option for beginners, but TJ Combo and Riptor are both pretty easy to learn while remaining competitive. Orchid also has a solid rushdown game.