Noob questions

So I’ve been watching some Evo tournaments and stuff… I want to main Fulgore so I’m focusing on watching Circa Nicky.

Anyways, I keep hearing two words thrown around that’s confusing me…

1. Conversions - “…nice conversion there…”, “…these newer players need to work on their conversions…”, etc.

2. Parries - I’m new to fighting games obviously lol, I’ve gathered this is a mechanic in all fighting games… and also that it may have something to do with shadow counters or some sort of counter. Anyways I was watching Nicky fight Sleep’s Arbiter and the announcers made the point that Arbiter can’t parry unless in instinct…

Please clarify these :confused:

1 Like

Hi there,

1 - A conversion is when you land a hit and manage to react and start a combo going. Usually more impressive conversions are from stray hits (random neutral hits that weren’t part of a setup) or from anti airs (hitting your opponent out of the air with a grounded move) or air to air interactions (both players jumping). These types of conversions mean the player reacted to a somewhat unexpected hit he managed to land, and converted properly into a combo with the right follow up.

2 -Parry is a word that’s generally used to define a move that allows a char to “deflect” the opponent’s attack. It became most widely known after SF 3, from the mechanic Capcom introduced as a universal parry for all characters, which was done by tapping forward a certain amount of frames before the opponent’s attack connected with your character (or down, if it was a low attack).
In KI Hisako has a parry, but it’s a reversal kind of parry, a la Tekken’s Paul Phoenix and other characters. Arbiter has a parry which is very similar to SF3’s mechanic, but which he can only use in instinct, by pressing HP+HK.