New player having trouble dealing with combo assist

Yeah, so like the title says, I’m very new to KI as in around a month of playing. After over three days play time so far, and after giving up combo assist within the first few days I feel like, at least with single player, I’m finally breaking into intermediate play.

I’m a feedback guy, I put in the work I’d like to see some results here and there which motivates me to continue the hard work.

Well in online multi-player which is the entire reason I want to play the game I constantly get destroyed by Killers and Gold, okay, that’s a given I’m cool with that. Chalk it up to a learning experience. But when complete newbies come on like lv5 or less as a qualifier and stomp me consistently by rushing and spamming random buttons with combo assist turned on that’s frustrating.

I’ll look up threads about how to deal with button mashers, and I’ve gotten enough experience to have a decent intuition on it but it doesn’t seem to matter. A favorite right now seems to be a teleporting Hisako, teleport and button mash, teleport and button mash.

The issue is that I ought to have an idea of how far I’ve climbed up the totem from all the work I’ve put in, after approaching a soon to be 100 hours of play I’d like to think I could win the majority of fights against bronze tier. Nah. I lose most battles, I only win the ones that are like me… mediocre but not button mashing, but since 90% of my battles are against Killers or button mashers with combo assist on… I’m not feeling the fruits of my labor here.

So I guess tl;dr combo assist feels toxic to intermediate players like myself because I’m trapped in mediocre hell.