New(ish) to fighting games and need a bit of advice

Hi!
New to the forum, and would like to ask for a bit of advice.

I bought KI on sale a few months ago with the intention of having something to play against others online. As is often the case, life came in between and I have only dabbled a little from time to time to learn how to play the game. Now however I have a bit more time and would like to start playing the game more frequently. I used to really like fighting games back in the day, for example SF2, SF Alpha-series and KoF 96 and 98, but I was never good at any of them, just playing for fun at home or in the arcade.

Is there any advice you could share to a complete beginner? Perhaps any character(s) that would be good for to start with when learning the games basics?

2 Likes

Hello @Three4Flinching,

Welcome to the community!

Generally speaking, everyone learns differently, but I’ll tell you how I went about learning to play fighting games.

For me, I also played a lot of fighting games in the '90’s, mostly the Mortal Kombat franchise, though I was younger and played them casually. The first fighting game I sat down and learned to play seriously was Mortal Kombat (2011) on my Xbox 360.

Basically what I did was played through the Tutorial to get a basic understanding of the fundamentals for the game. I next played through the Story Mode for some simple nostalgia, and to experience playing as a bunch of characters and the different styles of characters available.

I found I liked aggressive characters, and I ultimately decided on Mileena as my primary main. I then went into the Training Room. There, I poured over her move list, and simply did her normal attacks and such, getting a feel for the speed and range of them. I then did the same with her Special Moves, getting a good idea for their properties.