Is Combo Assist Truly Helpful - Noob Perspective

Hopefully I’m allowed to post this here, if so I want to first clarify that I am definitely not an elitest at all. I’m fairly new to the fighting game genre and just recently decided that I want to learn KI about 2 weeks before CA came out. So I am one of the many noobs this feature was created for. I’m currently placed in mid-bronze and level 7. After having the opportunity to play with and without CA, as of right now I’m not sure how productive this feature truly is for those who actually want to learn the game.

Absolutely it makes KI more accessible, however if its’ core purpose is to serve as a training tool with the intent of being weened off of, then I have my doubts on its overall effectiveness. Here are a few points of concern, from my perspective as a new player.

1. Low level games have become frustrating post CA, for a couple reasons. Primarily I like to play with CA off to improve my muscle memory when it comes to combos. It becomes frustrating dropping combos as my opponent pulls off flawless combo after combo and then tea bags at the end of the game as if they’re good. Previously these low level matches felt like a nice environment to learn the game, as both myself and my opponent were equally inconsistent when it came to combos. Thus, the matches were more fun. Now, however I feel like I need CA on until I can perfect the combo system in order to keep up with those using it. I’ll usually switch it on after someone showboats and then beat them on equal footing with CA. Unfortunately, in the process, I’m not getting any practice on how to manually execute combos.