I need help with defense against button spammers

I just started playing online and I’m fighting a lot of people that just spam the sam buttons over and over again. Granted you can combo break them, but it still gets frustrating to have them run up to you and spam LK to combo the whole match.

What are some good tactics for defending against button spammers?

It really depends on the matchup. Usually I find that buttons spammers often rely on Jago because of his easier frame traps (LP or LK)

As a Jago main myself, I often play defensively against spammers by playing the neutral game. If they tend to jump a lot, dash under or back and maintain the neutral game, which can be punished with crouching HP or a well-placed DP. If you are cornered and you noticed they abuse crouching low kick, you can Windkick because it is low invulnerable. Similarly, if they use crouching LP, you can catch them with a wakeup DP, but be warned - they often bait the wakeup move.

I would offer more suggestions but again it is based on matchups and the person you use, since every character has their own ways of dealing with spam attacks. Who do you use, maybe I have enough knowledge about them too?

Hey TigerSpirit,
Thanks for the feedback. I’ve been using Jago and the button mashers lately have been Jago’s and Saberwolf. I usually try to block, use neutral jump kicks to confirm into combos or use combo breakers to get some space between me and the other player.

Ah well yeah,