Does anybody else go through Xbox One controllers like crazy?

I’m not a professional competitive gamer. I just play fighting games and FPS as much as any other well adjusted adult with a job.

But Ever since owning my Xbox One in 2014, I’ve personally went though like 4 controllers. They don’t completely break on me. Its just that the inputs for the d-pad or face buttons wear out and aren’t reliable. Is this because I primarily play KI on a pad? Is it me? Is it the pad itself?

If I buy a stick, would I still encounter these problems?

2 Likes

nice things about sticks is that you can repair them yourself pretty easily with replacement parts. I just invested in my first stick for this game, so I can’t tell you from experience how often repairs have to happen. But, like you, I’ve busted so many controllers during my adult years, i don’t know what changed from the ps2 and before years where controllers never broke.

I’ve never had a pad break on me, but I also don’t press as hard as many other people…
When the game first came out, there was a ■■■■ ton of people saying exactly what you’re saying.

And no, if you buy a stick it will last… of course if you’re REALLY rough with it it can/will break, but in general fightsticks are made to take a beating.

And as @Hotsumari says… IF you get it ruined, you can just buy new parts for it, most of the new ones doesn’t even need any more tools, than what comes with them to tear apart and reassemble

Yea I used to have that same problem. Got the new elite controller for Christmas and found it is no longer an issue because the sticks are made from titanium I think. It was worth the upgrade because mine would just be worn down after a few months and I’d have to pick up new ones. Either that or you could pick up a fight stick.