Dealing with Agression, backed into corner, wake ups

Hello all, First off I want to say this is my first fighting game since MK trilogy on N64 so it has been a while. With that being said I am picking up KI very quickly and enjoying it so far. I recently started playing ranked game and for the most part if someone is around my skill level I do well but I am running into problems with very aggressive characters and how to deal with them.

Games where they are non-stop in my face usually ends up with me in the corner getting up over and over again and getting stuck in another combo. I am not sure how to deal with this. I try combo breaking and it works from time to time but right after that they just get on me again and rinse and repeat until im dead. I try blocking as soon as I get up and throwing but that doesn’t seem to work either as they break through and again im in another combo. I am a newb when it comes to this so are there any tips or tricks and how to get out of this or combat this? I am currently playing Fulgore because… well hes cool and that’s as far as I thought it through. Not sure if he has a problem with this or every character has a problem with this in general. Thanks for the help.

2 Likes

As always the best solution against these problems is to not get into these situation but that’s beside the point.

I’ll cover your general wake up option.
The first thing you have to know is that you’re down and you have to make a choice, most of the time you’ll have to guess, or better, read what your opponent will do.
Then you should know all of your wake up option.
In KI generaly speaking these are: block, backdash, jump, invincible move, shadow counter, instinct activation, tech throw or projectile invincible move.
Then it all comes down to what your opponent can do on your wake up but that’s mostly match up knowledge.

Now let’s see in detail what you can do as fulgore.

• blocking