Japanese KI scene: my experience at Kombo Klash Japan

Continuing the discussion from (Poll) Are you interested in getting to know the Japanese KI scene?:

In a recent poll on this forum, 95% of 79 voters said that they were interested in knowing more about the Japanese KI scene. Below is my brief (or long) report about my time at Kombo Klash Japan. Thanks again for voting!

First, to manage expectations, this is merely an introduction to the Japanese KI scene based on the info I gathered in three short hours I was at Kombo Klash in Tokyo. Second, I am no professional writer, so the information is not always very well organized or presented but I hope that you will enjoy it anyway. Third, this is not a match report, so you will not find any real analysis of fights and matchups but rather backgrounds of a few players as well as the KI scene in Tokyo based on my brief experience. And finally, this report has three parts and about 1500 words. As I have included various pictures, vids and links for your reference and reading pleasure, don’t stop reading and make sure you don’t miss any of the three parts as there is usually more coming after a photo or video.

The first place I visited was Kombo Klash Japan, and during my time there, I either watched other players play or played casual matches myself. I really wish I had more time to take better pictures and ask more questions. However, I did get invited by some Japanese players to their Tokyo “hideout”, so once I have been to this place, then I will have more specific information on more gameplay related topics. Before I continue, just a few questions to keep you curious and interested. The answers appear in the text. Though, no prize is attached :wink:

1. One Japanese player who mains Riptor is actually very well known in the Japanese arcades for playing another fighting game. It really surprised me when I heard what this game was, so what fighting game do you think it is? (sort of a trick question).