Thunder crazyness

Dp dp dp, mixed with lk, mk, hp. A giant character flying around the screen as he was Sadira (but even faster!). When Thunder got this ridiculous?

I think he’s dp is not invincible now (unless they use shadow), right? well, that’s a good one. Because he has nice normals and great mix ups potential, nice damage and scary grabs. This character is pretty annoying to fight as a rushdown. I need a very good zoning gameplan to deal with this joke, the bad part is I don’t have one, I’m not good at zoning.

I really need help with this.

3 Likes

You can break the follow-ups to his sammamish (such as his HK skyfall), as well as any manuals he may throw out. That said, I don’t like how he often gets a free crossup on block with H.sammamish.

Well like you said, he no longer has a wake up option outside of shadow meter. So what I do is meaty stuff him or frame trap him into tick throw until I visually notice the meter and bait his shadow DP.

Usually, once he gets going he can be tough.

1 Like

If you think DP options are crazy now, I am genuinely interested in knowing how you felt about pre-Season 3 Thunder who could cancel the landing frames of his DP into pretty much anything else. DP into command grab was a thing and it was pretty scary.

I didn’t like S3 at all, specially at the start and everything related to new characters and balances, I stopped playing online back then. I came back after the latest patches. You can imagine I wasn’t liking the game much and I still don’t know why but I when I watch EVO 2015 the nostalgia is atrong, despite not liking stuff from S2 (eg Kan Ra, overpowered characters like Wulf, even I use him, etc). But I liked the more grounded game, some aspects of the interface and general lighting, among other things. However I do believe the team is doing their best to make a good game, and still believe new people should play it more and KI should get more attention.