Strategy against Tusk

Good afternoon, Im new to the game and the Forum as well. I’ve been playing fighting games for quite a while and I’m very familiar with the KI mechanics, but Im having huge issue when fighting Tusk. I play Shadow Jago and according to data of both, Shago should win this fight. However I still get caught in endless 70% damage combos and lots of locked outs…

I come from UFSIV and I use to play Cody, Im not the kind of guy who would sit in the corner and zone and zone all day long. Im use to put pressure and rush down… So probably Shago is not the best option for me for a main character. However, I do like the character a lot and I know its all about putting together the correct strategy to beat this button masher Tusk. Any hints? tips?

Thank you in advance

1 Like

I’m not sure how to advise you here… eating huge damage combos because you keep locking out isn’t unique to Tusk, you just really gotta level up your breaking.

What does Tusk do to create his openings that you are having trouble with? Do you have a video we could analyze? - folks around here both love and are really good at that.

Shago is hella mixups and little damage. As a former Cody main myself, I haven’t noticed a lot of transferable strategy. They’re pretty far apart in toolsets.

I mean, Shago can rushdown and has good buttons, but all specials are unsafe you don’t spend the Surge. Can’t bully for days the way Cody can - but you might like Jago for that. I know, Jago’s more Ryu than anything, but his pressure game feels SO DAMN CODY. Plus a good fireball, and a real DP. If you’re looking for someone that feels like Cody, give boring ol’ Jago a shot - perhaps, like me, you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Also Omen. He’s a little crazier, and also suffers from low damage, but very comfortable for a former Cody as well. Hella pressure, reversal with Criminal input, and the most fun you can have with meter in the whole damn game.

1 Like