So why this obsession with "Tier Lists"?

I’m no expert in the FGC but personally in my opinion, I don’t think Tier Lists are even necessary in fighting games, yet I find that there is so many players that are into Tier Lists that they’ve become obsessed. I find it hard to see how a fighting game character can become more or less popular due to a Tier List other than personal enjoyment, but that’s just me.

Can you explain to me why people are so obsessed with Tier Lists?

Because people want to use the best. The thing is since everyone uses top tier,people have expieriance fighting the top tier. I just use who I enjoy.

4 Likes

This reminds me of a quote from Pokemon HeartGold/SoulSilver for some reason.

To me a “high tier” just means YOU don’t have to work that hard to “win” it practically gives you the win.

Tiers discourage diversity in tournaments. I’m sure Smash is full of Fire Emblem characters.

Tiers is also a dumb concept because I feel if a player wants to win they better make sure they do the right things no matter who they play. If they lose the only one who’s at fault is them.

I play a character I like. I’ll worry less about how good they might be, and how good I can use them.

5 Likes

I also think the teir lists are really stupid. People are just looking for someone to tell them the “best” character in the game, so they can pick that one, because they think that it will be easy to win with a character they think is top teir. Most of the people that worry about teirs are just looking for a character that will give them easy wins, because they are to lazy to learn a character, and just play.

To me this is just like cross picking. Just because someone told you that “x” character is the cross pick doesn’t mean it is a easy win. I have won so many times because they pick the cross pick and did not know how to play them.