[Shoryuken Article] "Fighting on: Killer Instinct’s battle to survive"

Link: http://shoryuken.com/2017/12/15/fight-on-killer-instincts-battle-to-survive/

None of this is really new to people who have been regulars on the forums here for the past few years, but I thought it was worth sharing regardless. It also features some our top players and KI gurus here on the forum.

I’ve probably said this before here but I agree that the KI scene has suffered unnecessarily and severely from the S3 negativity and warped nostalgia glasses of S1 and S2. The game has issues with quality support and consistency, and leaves behind a lot of missed potential in general, but there’s still nothing else like it out there. I’ve been playing KI for about 3 years now and no other Fighter has sucked me in like it has. The more I play, the better I get and the more I love it.

16 Likes

Wait, what negativity?
I thought S3 was the most successful one due to the guest characters and the new Shadow Lord mode…

1 Like

Not to everyone. Some deemed it was such a huge transition and shake-up to the game, that it wasn’t the same game they fell in love with. Some, instead of working to adapt and look at the game long term, lambasted it with negativity.

Now, if you just truly don’t like the game or anything like that, that’s fine. I’m talking about the people that keep playing KI and talk negatively about it every second they get.

3 Likes

Oh my god you have no idea how lucky you are.

I already read this article and it’s really well done.

1 Like

I was pretty negative about the guest characters, but I’ve always been the odd one out when it came to that topic. Most people seem to love them. So other than that, I don’t know what else people have been negative about that would impact the game negatively. Have I just not paid enough attention?