Shadow jago help

I need some help in the shadow jago MU. I’m new to KI and when I play against a shadow jago I have no idea what’s going on lol. I have labbed some punishes but in the middle of a match I still let them get away with murder. So I’m coming to you shadow jago mains please add me my GT is ADM Riddles if your willing to help me learn this mu

Are you also playing Shadow Jago? If you share the characters you’re playing you’ll likely get a bunch of people who can offer character specific information! If you can record clips of your matches, that could help as well.

Shadow Jago’s Surge mechanic makes his specials change or become safe, so you have to learn to kind of keep an eye on his Shadow meter. Some Shadow Jago players play a keep-away fireball game, others will throw lots of divekicks and slides at you - I find it useful to try to figure out which sort of Shadow Jago player I’m up against early, because if you can anticipate his (non-Surged) divekicks and slides you can get good punishes after blocking them.

I’m playing rash right now. I haven’t faced a zoning shadow jago yet usually they throw some fireballs and come in with the mix ups lol. I will have to lab more what the surge looks like so I know when they make it safe. If anyone has any tips for anything I can do as rash that would be appreciated as well

Unfortunately I don’t have much I can offer for Rash tips, except that the tongue can be used to eat fireballs, which I believe also gives you Shadow meter.

Some pointers:

His backdash is not startup invuln like every other - use that to your advantage.

His surges are all commitments. He can’t see confirm surges, so don’t let your salt blind you in tough spots.

All specials are punishable, it’s just a matter of to what degree. Surge can make them safe, but it’s always your turn after blocking a special (except Sg.Fireball - it’s still his turn).

If you block a fireball up close, punish w [jab]xOpener>combo.