Remembering 9/11

As we’re reaching the 14th anniversary of the attack on the World Trade Center, the Pentagon, and the field in Pennsylvania, we must honor those that had fallen on this dark day and remember the times when we all come together in this tragedy. That being said, where were you when the attacks took place.

Here is my story:

My brothers and I was walking home from school (I was in middle school and they were in high school), and when we got to home, that’s when we heard about the incident. We really didn’t know what to think of it, but once we saw the towers go down, we were dumbfounded. Ever since then, I was deathly afraid of planes and I never wanted to go on one…ever. However, when I was going to Job Corps in Memphis, Tennessee, (I graduated high school btw) and I learned that I had to fly over there, I was really scared because the 9/11 attacks were always on mind. Anyway, long story short, I was able to make it to Memphis with no problems, and since then, I got comfortable flying on planes, but I still had to watch my back because danger is always around, no matter where you are.

3 Likes

I was still in high school when that event happened

I was going to say that this thread came right out of nowhere…
Then I remembered that it’s tomorrow…
Such an atrocity, effectively beginning a war that would shake the entire world. Even though it was on American soil, people from several countries felt the sting of loss because of what evil was wrought that day…
Yet, I always seem to forget about it, even as it draws so near. Maybe since it didn’t effect me as much, I was so young when it happened.
We can only hope that no nation has to go through such a thing again.

Ironically I was in my history class when it happened…