Practicing Vengence

So, I’m new to the game but I’ve decided to record a ton of matches with different characters each month, similar to what @xSkeletalx is doing with Kim Wu. At the beginning of the next reset I’ll be playing Hisako. What I’m curious about is how you guys would suggest trying to practice hitting Vengeance.

Against good players?

Even when i EXPECT the vengeance counters i still fall for them if you use it after whiffing a move.

Whiff a huge special move on purpose, and people will want to punish you from pure instinct. ESPECIALLY if you are facing backwards. That will get them 100% of the time. (of course, if they dont go for it, then you are safe anyway.)

1 Like

I’ll have to respectfully disagree and say whiffing huge recovery special moves on purpose is not something you should get in the habit of doing.

Practicing Vengeance just comes down to “will my opponent hit a button or not?” and that’s pretty much about it. Here are some common uses for Vengeance:

1. To counter obvious jump-ins (force them to do empty jumps and other silly stuff to get around it)
  2. Countering ranged pokes (if Glacius is keeping you out with jump back kicks or ice lance, you can try to counter it)
  3. Countering slow, obvious moves on reaction (If Rash does wrecking ball to you, just pop high counter every time you see the startup. Same with things like Tusk’s slow normals, or Shadow Jago’s dive kick, or anything like that)
  4. Countering shadow attacks (Hisako is basically the only character in the game that gets a free answer to all shadow moves, and this includes all shadow counters if you have enough wrath. If Jago randomly does shadow Wind Kick against you, don’t block and shadow counter like everyone else, just counter immediately!)