I suck at playing. Please Help with my shadow jago

Ive looked at the infil website, ive done the tutorial, but im still ranked as a button masher and I cant beat anybody at silver.

Can someone please teach me how to “PLAY” this game? I know how to press buttons, but I dont know how to PLAY.

How do you play footsies? What are the fundamentals? How do I approach as this character? What do I do when they do this? What do I do when they do that? What can I do if this or that happens?

I am a blank slate and I have no background in fighting games except this. Can someone please help me?

Hey @FGCSlamjam :slight_smile: I understand what you are trying to say and I can help.

Is it possible for us to talk on xbox live?

I dont have a mic. Im on PC. My tag is FGC_Slamjam

1 Like

I play shadow jago. I can give you some tips.

1 Like

Ok, first thing you need to learn how to teabag proficiently …

…just kidding.

Personally I would say start off with Jago on training…make sure you can finish every lesson…it does a really nice job of laying out the basics. If you already have done this, great.
After that, I would say as far as specific Shago: with him your goal is to confuse your opponent, get up close, do mix-ups, and never let him figure out which way they should be blocking. This can usually be acomplished by a series of slides, dive kicks, surge moves and his dreaded pizza cutter. Also you need to understand that every special move he has is highly punishable if blocked, so like I said, keep 'em guessing.

Next personally I usually take a character I’m learning into survival (shadow survival would work too). IMHO the gradual AI increase helps a lot, plus it helps to identify the basic strengths and weaknesses of each match-up…I usually wait until I can get a character about 4 to 5 up from veteran before jumping into online (25-26 from beginner).