How do you learn character matchups?

TLDR: How do you learn matchups in KI?

Hello fellow killers,
i have been looking around the forums lately and i found a lot of topics about certain matchups. But there was no thread about the approach to learn a matchup, which is pretty interessting imo.

I’m fairly new to KI (coming from SF4) and my biggest weakness right now is matchup knowledge. I have decent fundamentals so i’m able to play a solid ground game, but i feel like in some matchups this is not enough.
I would like to ask you guys, how you guys learn a matchup. I just want to get some input to get inspired by to optimize my own approach. To give you a little insight here is how i learn a matchup atm:

1. Check the ranges on normal and special moves and figure out there best poking tools and other properties of the moves (e.g. overhead, low, invincibility, etc.)
  2. Learn which moves are unsafe
    (specials and normals) and find the optimal punish.
    For now the optimal punish in KI is probably a normal canceled into an opener and play the combo game from there, which is a big difference to SF4.
  3. Learn the wakeup options (with and without meter)
    This is really important to me since i’m a thunder player. I need to know their options after a knockdown and my options how to counter a specific wakeup option.

Thats pretty much it for what i do. It’s pretty basic i guess. I guess i’m missing some KI specific stuff. For example Auto-doubles/linkers: what is your approach on learning to recognize the specific strenght for autos/linkers to break them. If you disagree with some of my stuff pls let me know why, always happy about constructive criticism.

So yeah pls let me have some insight on your way of learning a matchup in KI. Pretty interested in your approaches.

Wish you guys a nice weekend and good luck to all contenders at frosty faustings!

On a side note: I’m always looking for people to play with. So feel free to add me, so we get some sets in.