General Improvement Tips?

Hi!

First off, I’m new here as a poster, but I browse there forums all the time. I’ve been playing KI consistently since day 1, and have always mained Jago. As one of the first games that I’ve attempted to play competitively, KI is where I learned most of my Fighting Game fundamentals, but I still have a lot of work to do, as I’m relatively new to fighting games. So, yeah, hi everybody! Looking forward to posting here more often!

Anyways, I’m going to EVO for my third time this year. I’ve managed to avoid going 0-2 and won at least one set each year, and I would like this year to be no exception. However, I feel very unprepared this year. I have not been playing KI or fighting games at all for the past few months, and my lack of familiarity with S3 is no help at all.

So, I’m gonna break down what I think I know, what I think my weaknesses and bad matchups are, and I would really appreciate some advice if anybody has the time.

I feel my strengths are almost entirely in my offensive ability. I have mastered Jago’s manuals, I think I have very good and safe mixups, and I use tick throws very effectively. My defense is another story, but I feel like I have good anti-airs, and use shadow counters pretty efficiently. Also, as a KOF player, my execution is usually solid.

My known flaws are as follows. First and foremost, I’ve never been able to break very well, and though I try very hard to avoid it, often panic and make a guess. My defense against certain characters is awful, I tend to fall for a mixup or two and wakeup-DP out of desperation. I don’t know anything about frame data outside of Jago, so my matchup knowledge leaves a lot to be desired. I also rely on frame-traps and normals into wind kick too often, and get shadow countered for it.

On top of all that, my worst matchups are Glacius (he’s the big one), Thunder, and Hisako. I’m also afraid of Wulf, but I have much more knowledge on what he can do.