Combo breaking

I’m very new to this game, but, with Combo breaking, the first “button” you press to start the combo determines what the opponent must press to combo break correct? So if I start a combo with a LP attack, they must press LP LK to break. I can start the same combo with MP and they must press MP MK to break right? Sorry if this info is elsewhere but I usually like to ask my own questions anyway. Thanks.

No, your breaker is based on the part of the combo that is currently hitting you.

1 Like

The combo is broken into three parts: The opener, the combo, and the ender.

Openers are basically the first move of a combo. Not all moves are openers, they are usually certain types of special moves characters have. You can see a list of them in the training menu.

For this I’ll use Jago as an example.

If you are Jago, and you hit an opponent with a light punch, and cancel that light punch into a laser sword move, the laser sword is what you call the “opener”. The opener is the true start of the combo, and openers can NEVER be broken ever.

It’s easier to think of it like this at first:

Special move -> attack ->Special move -> attack ->Special move -> attack ->Special move.

Anything AFTER that first special is breakable. And depending on the strength of the attack or the strength of the special, you hit either LP+LK (light combo breaker), MP+MK, or HP+HK to break that strength of the move.

After the Opener occurs, that’s when the breakable stuff happens. You get two things, Auto Doubles, and linkers. Auto doubles are basically attacks that look like the normal hits of the character. These can be one of three different strengths. If the player hits a light attack button, they get a light auto double, if they hit a medium button, they get a medium auto double, and so on for heavy.