Combo breakering a shadow move? help?

I watched Maximillian’s vid of how to breaker a show move, but he said Medium Punch + Medium Kick on 3 of the 5 hits. I tried doing this, and it doesn’t work all the time. Some times I have to break shadows with heavies, or lights. I’m also still kinda new to KI, as far as skill goes. And started playing it since it was the free game with gold thing. I do have combo assist off, though. But I also know KI is one of those games that one update, can change how everything is played (such as season 3’s update), so I don’t know how to know which buttons to press to break a shadow move, I have to take a guess.

I’ve found that when breaking Shadow moves, the breaker you use isn’t very important. I’ve use lights, heavies, and mediums to break them at any given time. Of you’re having trouble breaking them, it might be a timing thing. Even if you know the rhythm at which to break a shadow you can mess up and get locked out if your timing is just a bit off.
Hope it helps. Welcome to Killer Instinct, by the way. :slight_smile:

1 Like

When breaking a shadow move you can use all three strength breakers since shadow moves are not a specific strength.

So you can break them with:
Lights (light punch and light kick)
Mediums (medium punch and medium kick)
and Heavies (heavy punch and heavy kick)

As long as you know the timing of 3 out of 5 hits you should be fine.

1 Like

Thank you for the welcoming! Haha. Hmm if that’s the case, then the game just doesn’t register the lights or mediums, like I don’t even get a lockout half the time when I’m trying to break. Maybe its just me, I’ll try to practice some more. Thank you for the help

You might also be trying to break openers or enders, neither of which are breakable under normal circumstances (though going opener>ender with no linkers or auto doubles is super breakable)
That, or it could be a controller issue.
Hope it gets sorted out soon.