Arbiter: Quirks, Bugs, Decisions or Oversights?

I hate to be the guy that makes a forum account to complain or question the devs designs, but this being my first post, I guess I am that guy. Kind of.

Allow me to preface this with the fact that I am new to KI, though I have been following it since just before S2 (waiting for the PC release). I am not new to fighting games, and have been playing them with relative competence (pretty much strictly offline; I’ve never had internet good enough to not lag out a match online, and that’s no fun for anyone) for about 15 years. If nothing else, I’m not a TOTAL noob.

So, Arbiter. He’s great. The vast majority of my fighting game life, I have played grapplers almost exclusively (GG May/Potemkin, SFA3 Sodom/Birdie, SF3 Alex, SF4 Hugo) and Arbiter is hands-down the most fun and interesting grappler I’ve experienced. I do, however, have a few minor complaints. Maybe not even complaints, just developmental decisions I either do not understand or do not agree with. For all I know, they could be wholly intentional and I’m missing or misunderstanding key situational data; they could also be simple oversights. I don’t know, that’s why I’m here.

Sorry 'bout the text wall (I’m also one of THOSE).
Without further ado:

1. Energy Shield. Super important to Arby’s overall gameplay. Keeps him safe from his own grenade (and lets him safely reversal with it) & other fireballs/projectiles, opens up his juggles from sweep>launch (cr.MK x qcf.P), and can sort of function as an invincible reversal of sorts, which is the crux of this bullet point. The activation of Shield is (fully?) invincible on startup, and has a correlated 0-damage hit that awards a knockdown.