A weird strategy

Ok so i’ve been playing KI for two months my main is TJ Combo and i wanted to make a topic of this that there’s one weird fighting startegy that so many people i fought uses.

Their fighting style goes like this: you’re jumping to the corner and if your Jago or Shadow Jago you spam fireballs you wait for the opponent to come over to you and start beating them and immediatley after your done jump to the other side of the corner and do it all over again.

If you have seen this or do this yourself please comment on why is this a usual strategy with many people.

For me this is a pretty unfair & annoying way to fight someone who does this.

There are plenty of ways around this, especially with TJ.
For fireballs, the roll foes right through them. If your opponent tries to jump away, tremor travels and has a massive hitbox.

People who aren’t very good players use this strategy because they either don’t yet understand how to play Shadow Jago, or they’re simply using what they think works (and at low levels of play, it does), or both. It’s really not all that effective though, as almost every character has an answer for zoning, such as a projectile-invulnerable move.

The way good players use Shadow Jago, is not only from his zoning game, but also his crazy teleport mixups, use of his surge ability, his recapture kick into stagger, and of course the juggles off of that and his throw.

It’s common because it’s fairly easy to do, and relatively effective at lower levels. The goal is basically to annoy you into approaching in unsafe ways that can then be punished.

TJ has pretty solid answers for this kind of pressure. Roll will blow through the lower projectiles, but be on the lookout for people trying to catch your recovery with windkick or slide. Powerline will also blow through fireballs when done at the right ranges, as the hit of armor will let you soak the hit and still deck the guy in the face :smiling_imp: