What's your KI story?

So back in 1998, I was around 7-8 years old and at the time I was still playing on the NES. One day, my parents came home with a SNES and it changed my life forever. They had bought a SNES with a few games, some of the better ones or at least the ones that many people love and remember: Megaman X, Donkey Kong Country, Killer Instinct, F-Zero, Gradius 3, Mortal Kombat 2, Super Metroid and Super Mario World. (I would eventually get other games)

Among them was a black cartridge with a robot on it’s picture and I thought “this must be an action game and that robot is either the main character that I’ll be using or one of the enemies”. Never expected it to be a fighting game so I was quite surprised when I started playing it.

As I played it, I couldn’t help but be amazed by everything: the graphics, characters, music, sound effects etc. and so this game instantly clicked with me and I couldn’t stop playing it. I remember those wonderful days as a kid in the 3rd grade, couldn’t wait to come back home after school to boot up my SNES and start playing, I really miss those days.

Obviously as time went on, I found interest in other games when I got a PS1 and kind of forgot about KI although not completely as a few years later in 2005 I buried my SNES out of other belongings that were in boxes and started playing it again, this time introducing it to my younger brother. Then I wondered “what happened to this game?” it surprised me that KI never continued after KI2 and gold.

As the years went on by, I waited and waited while doing some research on KI about everything like the characters, moves, development team and I also watched all sorts of videos about KI on youtube including tributes, compilations and walkthroughs. Then I stopped waiting around 2011.