Looking for some guidance

Hey guys, I’m relatively new to the KI scene and I decided to come here for some help. My problem is picking a character to main.

In past fighting games (MKX and MK9, SF4, and Injustice),I mained and really enjoyed Mileena, Sektor and Jax from MK…Bison, Zangief and Dudley from Street Fighter… Joker, Bane and Green Lantern from Injustice

So now I’m here trying to learn this game, but I’m having trouble picking a character that fits my style (not even sure what my style really is).So I come to you guys looking for some guidance based on the characters I listed…any help or guidance will be greatly appreciated…Thanks in advance.

My advice is to go into survival or training and try them all. Just like Pokemon, gotta try them all…well similar to Pokemon.

I will say, I was an M.Bison player in Street Fighter 4 and in the SF5 beta, and I play Cinder. I also feel like if you enjoy grappling like Zangief, Thunder has some pretty good gamestyle for you to try as well, and I’ve played as him too.

Do note though, that while every character has different specials, different normals, and different mechanics to open a person for attack, the combo system is very easy to use and works universally the same across all characters. It’s the unique juggles, specials, and mechanics that really separate each cast member, so it’s more or less not finding the person with the best combos, but the best way to open the opponent for the combo system. However, the universal combo system makes it much easier on you to have multiple mains, like I enjoy playing Cinder, Shadow Jago, Jago, Thunder, Hisako, and a tad bit of Omen.

Really though, if you have all characters available at your disposal, and the time on your hands, try them all, and I’m pretty sure you’ll find that one. Most of us have more than one main, so you should try to pick up a few different characters to cover all the basics.

1 Like