Let's talk Music; Calling All Musicians!

Hey guys, just thought I’d make a thread for all of the musicians in the forums. Whether you pursue it as a hobby or you do it professionally, this is a place for us to come and discuss the ups and downs of being a musician.
Feel free to talk about gear, influences, styles, theory, touring, producing,playing, writing, singing, critiquing, whatever comes to mind!

3 Likes

Might as well go first, since I started this.
I’ve been playing guitar for about a decade now, though I’ve only been professionally trained in theory within the last year or two since I started college (apart from stuff in early middle school that got me started). Otherwise, I’m mostly self taught and play by ear. I’ve even been writing my
I primarily play guitar (and as bass by association), though I do like to dabble in percussion, keyboards, and hopefully Cello.

I own a B.C Rich Bronze Series Warlock that I picked up at a pawn shop, along with a Recording King acoustic and a bright green Dean Bass. I play my electric wares through a Peavey Vyper, a mostly digital amp with a lot of different effects that I picked up for cheap. I prefer Earny Ball Hybrid Gauge strings

I play and write heavy metal, but I try to take inspiration from a wide variety of genres including blues, electronica, punk, and of course video game music. At the end of the day, of course, metal is my first love, so I try to follow on the footsteps of bands ranging from Black Sabbath to Godsmack, from Deicide to Metallica, from Immortal to Judas Priest, anything I can get ahold of.
I’ve yet to start a band, as I don’t know many other musicians in my area and/or don’t have the motivation or time to find them…part of why I started this thread really. Needed someone to talk music with besides the occasional music major. :stuck_out_tongue:

So, now that I’ve told my story, I’d be interested to hear yours, dudes!

2 Likes

Well, since this thread is looking a little lonely I will chime in.