Let's Talk About Writing!

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Ryan. (My online alias of course being RGL Entertainment) and I am a writer. Or at least trying to be… But I am stuck in the worlds worst case of writers block.

So, to the fellow writers who occupy this forum I ask you this: When you have your characters, backgrounds and setting, whats the next step? How do you decide what story to tell when you’ve created a universe?

I look forward to the discussion. Post away!

Well I too am trying to be a writer I was writing a story not so long ago then realised it wasn’t working out and I wanted to do a slightly different kind of story, so I scrapped it halfway through chapter 4 and I’m currently trying to start a new story.

I wish I could give you some good advise but I’m currently suffering from major writer’s block too but I guess just carry on reading books for inspiration and ask around from other writer’s opinions, though I don’t think you’ll get much luck from the Ultra-Combo forums.

I didn’t expect to get a ton of help from the forums. However if you look around there are plenty of people who are passionate about storytelling. whether they write or not. What I really want to know is what people like to see in stories.

Sad to hear you’re scrapping ideas too, but I know the feeling quite well.

If you’re creating a universe before you’ve creating a story, you’re sort of getting the cart before the horse. You’re primary focus before anything, should be the story. Think of a book/screenplay like a cake. The “cake” part is the “story” with everything else (no matter how many layers) being the icing.

I was trained as a screenwriter and then later on picked up novel writing and the one thing I learned in all of my classes and such is that you can have one of the vastest universes in the world, but if your plot stinks, no one will care.