Guitar Players and Garage Bands thread

So, it turns out there are a lot of musicians active on the forum, for whatever reason. I’m going to take advantage of that and create a self serving personal thread to ask about some advice on setting up a garage band.

Just by way of background, me, my twin brother and our pal get together probably once every few months and since we all play some guitar we have been trying to work out a few songs for fun. My buddy is a pretty decent blues guitar player (on acoustic) and my brother is a professional former Tuba player (yes, that’s what I said) who took up guitar for fun and spent some time as a music teacher. He is a bit of a collector with lots of guitars, a couple of basses, drum kit etc. I play (badly) some acoustic guitar and at this point mostly acoustic pop songs or country that I pluck off the radio and can learn to play softly for my kids while they go to sleep. I’m a professional lullaby player.

Anyhoo, we’ve been getting together and trying to do more interesting things instead of just all making noise in the same room. I have an acoustic electric now, and my brother brings a couple of electric guitars and a bass and we see if we can make a song sound okay. My buddy is a pretty decent singer. The problem is my brother hauls like 900 lbs of equipment 90 minutes each way just to set this up. He has a mixer and a PA system that we need essentially just to let the vocals compete with the instruments in my basement. I’m looking to buy some gear that doesn’t take up the whole house and weigh a ton that will let us goof around and I’m just curious if people have recommendations. I know a lot of you guys are in to metal, but that’s not really our scene so I don’t necessarily need anything that’s going to rattle the windows. Just something for a trio to be able to play mostly two guitars and a bass while someone sings.