Getting tired of being called a "try hard"

I’ve just started accepting messages again and not muting all players, and I get 2 out of 3 people that I body call me a “try hard” and to get a life. I’m a computer engineer with 3 kids and a salaried job, who just so happens to like playing this game. I don’t teabag or taunt or anything. This sorta stuff makes me wanna go back into my shell. Seems like team oriented games are really the only genres where friends and all of that are kinda worth it. Last time I was called this I just quit the mirror matchup. These dudes don’t even know if I’m trying hard to play or not. And the last one he just didn’t know what he was doing, and I was messing around. Oh well.

5 Likes

Sometimes it’s just best to ignore it and block the person making crappy comments to soothe his/her ego. I remember getting way worse messages back in the Xbox 360 days. I played my way and the other guy raged out because camping seems to be nerve wrecking to other people. Of course, I deleted those comments and moved on. Two days before today, I received a random expletive filled message on Xbox One from a random gamer and did the same thing as always;

Ignore, Delete, Block.

It works for me.

Also there’s nothing really wrong with teabagging and taunting so don’t feel too restricted to do any of those. If a player gets salty, then that’s the other player’s fault, not yours.

I look at it this way. If I’m being called a “Tryhard”, I have successfully done my duty of playing Mind games with my opponent, to the point he starts sending hate mail.

Lol.

I’ve been called a Tryhard, for switching to a character to avoid a mirror match. Apparently, switching to my Day 1 Mira from my level 50 Kim is tryhard. LOL :joy:

5 Likes

What tryhard actually means: “I can’t beat you, so I’m going to assume you’re trying really hard to make myself feel better.”

5 Likes

Please dont let this mess with you emotionally.