A fighting game virgin's thoughts on a genre he hardly understands

I’m completely new to the fighting game genre. Sure, I’ve played some friendly competitive Smash Bros., but that hardly compares to a legit fighter . Anyways, there are similarities, and it made me more interested in getting into the genre as a whole.

So, today, I download KI. Hop into the Dojo. (Hmm, combo assist on? Care to tell me what that actually is? Probably a crutch that’s going to get me killed and hard to wean myself off of, right?)

OK, basically Street Fighter input but more combo-heavy.

Woah, I did that combo entirely by accident, thereby not learning anything!

…Am I expected to do any of this within an actual match?

…Opener, Auto, Linker, Auto, Shadow Linker, Auto, Ender? (spends 15 minutes trying to successfully do this and gives up)

Questions about this experience:
-Seriously, am I expected to pull off that combo consistently? Is it really necessary (especially when it’s putting you at risk?) Why is it gating tutorials on important stuff (i.e. Instict?)

-Something about fighting games as a whole: Obviously, many moves are too fast to react to, leading to prediction, the bread and butter of the genre as I understand it. Is it just me, or does the rock-paper-scissors nature of most “prediction” mean that your “prediction” is in reality just a guess and not skill-based in the least, same as… rock, paper, scissors? Where’s the mind game in guessing one of three possible inputs when there is no inherent advantage to any of those inputs over another (referring to the combo breaker system in this case)?

EDIT: I didn’t realize what combo assist actually did. After shutting it off, things are making much more sense.

8 Likes

Be patient, it becomes second nature, and once you get it with one character you a do it with anyone else.